Nigel Poor

ABOG Fellow for Socially Engaged Art

Nigel Poor is a San Francisco-based artist and photographer and member of the San Quentin Prison Report collective, which includes members Brian Acey, Greg Eskridge, Jun Hamamoto, David Jassy, Jason Jones, Adnan Khan, Harold Meeks, Tommy Shakur Ross, Louis A. Scott, Shadeed Wallace Stepter and Earlonne Woods. She is a Professor of Photography at California State University, Sacramento.

Her ABOG Fellowship will support The San Quentin Prison Report Radio Project, an ongoing collaboration with incarcerated men at San Quentin State Prison that creates original audio pieces about life inside prison for broadcast on public radio. Participants are trained in all aspects of audio and radio production to produce stories that are complex and challenge reductive stereotypes, while also providing meaningful work for men who are serving life sentences.

Explore SQPR stories via KALW (91.7 FM) San Francisco

Listen to Live @ San Quentin, the first-ever uncensored storytelling event at the prison

Visit Nigel Poor’s website

Artist portrait by Dante Fontana.

See more articles tagged:  
Criminal JusticeNigel PoorSan Quentin Prison ReportTechnology